Even my Flesh

Image

I think “Flesh” is described as something that go against God throughout the Bible, except one place. It’s where King David writes..

“O God, You are my God;
Early will I seek You;
My soul thirsts for You;
My flesh longs for You
In a dry and thirsty land
Where there is no water.”  Psalm 63:1  NKJV

That led me to a thought.. “How can his flesh long for God? Is that even possible?” Well, he said it.. and sure, although his flesh failed God many time, God looked at him as a man after His own heart.

NLT translation says, “my whole body longs.” I want that So badly. Sure, my heart longs for the living God.. but my flesh doesn’t! My flesh wants to do what it wants to do, which is often contradicting to what the Spirit desires. I know God looks at the heart, but i even want my flesh to crave for God. Perhaps, that’s why David wrote Psalm 27:4 (One of my fav) where it says,

“One thing have I asked of the Lord,
that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
and to inquire in his temple.” ESV

I’m so inspired by David’s heart and life. Probably because he was a worship leader haha. I love the fact that he established his kingdom with a house of the Lord.. 24/7 worship center where 4000 musicians never stop worshipping in rotation. David never wanted incense of worship and prayer to stop throughout the day and night. How beautiful is that?

If you can lift a quick prayer for me, that would be awesome. I pray that your heart & flesh will long for more of God daily as well! Bless you.

Leave a comment